In this article, we shall discuss the change in the rule in travel visas (visit or tourist visas) to the Schezen area in general and Spain in particular with the coming of the ETIAS. 

What is a Visa? Do You need one to visit Spain?

A visa is a provisional authorization conferred by a country to a non-citizen, permitting them to penetrate, reside, or to leave that country.

When planning to visit any foreign nation, it is essential to consider that a visa might be required even to connect a flight. Before travelling overseas, make sure to find out whether or not a visa is required for any part of the trip. 

A visa does not warrant entrance into a foreign nation, it remains the right of the immigration administrators of the nation involved.

However, nationals from the European Union Nations like Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Iceland do not need to present a visa at the entry to Spain. All they need is a valid passport or an Identity card whereas, children below sixteen years of age can be covered by their parent’s or guidance passport. 

 In addition,  there are presently several countries who are not in the European Union but are visa-free. Nationals of these countries are given this privilege but will be required to present a passport and can stay for up to 90 days.  Among these are Andorra, Costa Rica, Japan, Paraguay, Argentina, Croatia, Malaysia, Rep. Korea, Australia, El Salvador, Mexico, San Marino, the Vatican, Brazil, USA, Monaco, Brunei, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Singapore, Canada, Honduras, New Zealand, Uruguay, Chile, Israel, Panama and Venezuela. 

The citizens of any other country not mentioned on the list above will be required to present a visa before they can be allowed to visit Spain. 

Notwithstanding, the above list is subject to changes at brief notifications as a result, visitors are recommended to review regulations within the appropriate Embassy or Consulate before venturing.

Also, if there are transit passengers present, they will not need to present a visa – if advancing their journey by the first linking aircraft, if they have a legitimate forward or return document and or if they are not retreating from the airport.

This rule doesn’t apply to citizens of Bangladesh, Afghanistan, D.R Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Somalia, Iran, Pakistan, Iraq, Liberia, and Sri Lanka as they will be required to present a transit visa. 

Just like the first list, this list is subject to changes at brief notifications and so passengers should always check transit regulations with the appropriate embassy or Consulate before venturing.

What documentations are required to process a visit visa?

  • Application form, Proof of reason for the visit, 4 passport-sized photographs, confirmed accommodation, valid passport with one full blank page, Return travel tickets, proof of enough funds to stay, a letter from an employer (where applicable), a stamped, self-addressed, registered envelope if you’re applying by post, and a visa fee. 

Note that the above information remains the procedures until the mid of 2030 when the ETIAS rule will apply. 


ETIAS and its Role. 

Europe remains the highest visited area worldwide, welcoming over thirty -eight million tourist in 2018. The region hosts countries like France, Germany, Spain and Italy. The region is particularly a famous destination for US tourists who currently do not need a tourist visa to visit this region. However, the rules are about to change with the coming of the ETIAS, Initially meant to begin from the 1st of January 2021 but carried forward to the end of 2022.  

The principal basis for the consent of the ETIAS authorization is security. 

With the heightened danger of passengers globally, the EU aspires to guarantee safe travels in its homelands. 

The ETIAS will mitigate security matters considerably via its data collection systems. This means – ETIAS will identify if an individual is a threat in any form to the security of Schengen nations. 


  • ETIAS is an acronym for European Travel Information and Authorization System.
  •  It is a fully electronic system that permits and keeps the record of foreigners from the visa-free nations (whose nationals need not present a visa to enter the Schengen Zone, Spain inclusive). 
  • ETIAS will be obligatory for all nations who are Schengen visa-free. 
  • The ETIAS shall support a thorough security inspection of all applicants to ascertain whether they can be authorised to invade any Schengen Zone nation. 
  • Meanwhile, nationals of nations who do not require a visa for travel goals of up to ninety days in the European Union would not need to go via a lengthy process of applying for the visa as ETIAS will ensure that they are not a security threat.  
  • Besides its engagement in business and tourist purposes, ETIAS will also permit individuals to visit the Schengen zone for medicinal and transit purposes. 
  • The system will go into to effect by the end of 2022 and will not be active until 6 months afterwards. 

The reality is that everyone will need a legal document, be it the visa or the 

ETIAS authorization documentation to be able to visit Spain and the rest of the Schengen countries. 

Visas procedures could be quite long and time-consuming, from investigating online the authorization you’ll need to, locating the most proximal embassy or consulate, then the long slog for application, especially as nationals of 26 more countries, will be needing a legal authorization to enter Spain. But luckily enough, 

  •  Visitors can now get their valid travel authorizations with a new online service, Byevisa. 
  • Byevisa is a satisfactory portal that allows international travellers to purchase valid eVisas from the comfort of their home or wherever. 
  • All a traveller does is to fill in a simple form in just a few steps and have their valid visas mailed to them within a short period.
  • Byevisa covers over 60 countries globally.
  • Life is easy with Byevisa services, no visit to the embassy, no paper form filling, no queuing, less effort and stress. Click for more information. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here